Cabinet Confirms 15 More Counties as 2021 Elections Close In

The number of constituencies in the country has increased to 272 after cabinet confirming 15 more counties.

This was revealed by Hon Judith Nabakooba, the Minster of ICT and National Guidance on Tuesday.

“I would like to update the public on some of the most recent cabinet resolutions agreed upon during the cabinet meeting that sat on June 22,” she noted before unveiling the list of the new Counties.

The new counties include Kiboga West, Buhweju West, Lamwo East, Bugangaizi South, Chekwi East, Mulanda, Buwekula South, Kwania North, Kagoma North, Buyanja East, Ngariam, Agago West, Bukanga North, Bukimbiri and Nakaseke Central.

These are expected to have their representatives considered by Parliament very soon so that they can kick off operations.

According to data from Uganda Electoral Commission, Uganda has 296 constituencies and 257 counties.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker