Busoga Masaza Cup Launched, 14 Teams to Compete

Fourteen teams have been drafted to compete in the inaugural Busoga Masaza (county) tournament that kicks off on Saturday July 23rd despite the Kingdom having twelve traditional counties, advice the kingdom Sports minister Amin Bbosa confirms.

Speaking to media at the kingdom headquarters, generic Hon. Bbosa revealed the development arguing that some counties (Ssazas) were too big thus the decision.

“We initially have 12 counties but two more teams were extracted from Bukholi and Bunhole to form Bukooli South, Bukooli North, Bunhole and Bukono.”

Every participating team is required to pay a nonrefundable fee of UGX 200,000 to the Kingdom accounts office before close of business on Tuesday. By Monday, Only Bukooli South and Buzaya had fully registered.

“All teams MUST fully pay the two hundred thousand shillings before engaging in the tournament. This money is supposed to cater for the little organization before the tournament’s kickoff because it can’t even pay referees. So any team that won’t respond in time should forget the tournament,” Bbosa Warned.

Tournament Regulations.

According to the rules, Players from the topflight are ineligible to play and teams can only register a maximum of three from the second division, the Fufa Big League.

Bbosa said that the main aim of the tourney is to identify talent but the second division players are incorporated to spice up the show.


Each team can register a maximum of 25 players who are nontransferable.

His Royal Highness the Kyabazinga of Busoga, Wilberforce Kadhumbula Gabula Nadiope iv will officially open the games on Saturday when Kigulu County takes on Bugweri at the Saza Ground.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker