Buganda Caucus Elections Suspended as Members Trade Insults

Members of Parliament under the Buganda caucus have suspended elections for their new leaders after a heated disagreement on how to proceed.

The disagreement began when members questioned the mandate of the caucus Chairman, cialis 40mg http://checkhimout.ca/wp-admin/includes/theme-install.php Godfrey Kiwanda of Mityana North and his team to organize elections when their team of office ended in 2013.

MP Mathias Mpuga addressing the caucus
MP Mathias Mpuga addressing the caucus

The Minister of State for Tourism, sildenafil http://cooperatition.org/wp-includes/atomlib.php Kiwanda had set up a team of three members; Emanuel Lumala Ddumba, http://clipvoice.it/administrator/components/com_k2/elements/user.php Patrick Nsanja Mabirizi and Julius Balikuddembe to conduct and supervise the elections which members declined to.

Rubaga South Member of Parliament, Kato Lubwama charged the members to explain the aims and relevancy of caucus especially to the new members before indulging in any elections of caucus leaders.

“Mr. Chairman, Our objective is that are we caucusing for Buganda to take over power, is it to raise the supremacy of Buganda; I therefore suggest that before any elections, we must first hold a retreat so that we all move on the same pace,” Kato Lubwama said.

“We must define a political strategy that unites us as members from Buganda region which will form the relevant objectives that we must pursue for the good of Buganda,” noted Rubaga North MP, Moses Kasibante.

The caucus however agreed to form an interim committee composed of three members Chaired by Masaka Municipality MP Mathias Mpuuga and to be helped by Bbale County’s George Kumaama Nsamba as well as Lwengo Woman MP Cissy Namujju.

The committee has been given one month to come up with a new date for electing new leaders as well as organizing a retreat that will help the new members understand the relevancy, mission and operations of the caucus.


So far only Betty Nambooze (Mukono Municipality), and Johnson Muyanja Senyonga (Mukono South) and Theodre Sekikubo from Lwemiyaga County have expressed interest to lead the caucus.

“I have been given the mandate on four core issues to superintend over which among others include; evolving a proper orientation document that will appreciate and understand the objectives of the caucus since over 80 percent of the caucus members are new in Parliament,” noted Mathis Mpuga the interim committee chairman.

“Amend the constitution to streamline the caucus elections guidelines, organize a report of the outgoing caucus leadership and organizing new elections within a period of one month.”

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker