Bobi Wine Finally Cleared for Presidential Nomination

Kyadondo East Member of Parliament and presidential hopeful Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu aka Bobi Wine is among the total number of 10 candidates cleared by the Electoral Commission to be nominated as presidential candidates for the 2021 general elections.

The list also bears names of 12 other candidates whose signatures are still under verification.

Over the weekend, the Electoral Commission announced that it had cleared only four candidates including incumbent Yoweri Museveni, former security Minister and spy chief Lt Gen Henry Tumukunde and two others.

The Commission stated that signatures submitted by other candidates to back their nomination were still under verification.

Signatures submitted by Bobi Wine, Mugisha Muntu, Patrick Amuriat Oboi were among those under verification.

Each aspiring candidate is under the law supposed to submit at least 100 signatures of registered voters from 98 districts which form two thirds of all districts of Uganda.

On Wednesday afternoon, the Commission has released a full list of 22 candidates cleared for presidential nominations.

Here is the full list of the cleared candidates

Yoweri Kaguta Museveni of National Resistance Movement (NRM) party.
Henry Tumukunde – Independent.
Fred Mwesigye – Independent.
Willy Mayambala – Independent.
Joseph Kabuleta – Independent.
Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu – National Unity Platform (NUP) party.
John Katumba – Independent.
Nancy Kalembe Linda – Independent.
Patrick Amuriat Oboi of Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party.
Mugisha Muntu Gregg of Alliance for National Transformation (ANT) party.
Full list of those whose signatures are under verification
Bbale Charles – Ecological Party of Uganda (EPU).
Elizabeth Katwe Lugudde – Independent.
Robert Mbulambago – Independent.
Simon Ebetu – Independent.
Joseph Mabirizi – Independent.
Jothan Yamureebire – Independent.
Moses Makmot – Independent.
Geoffrey Okoth – Independent.
Brenda Katushemererwe – Independent.
Henry Sserunjogi – Independent.
Fred Chemuko Wakuri – Revolutionary People’s Party (RPP).
Phiona Mirembe – Independent.

The candidates will be nominated on the 2nd and 3rd November 2020 at Kyambogo University sports grounds.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker