Bika Tournament: End of the Road for Defending Champions, Mbogo

In one of the exciting games at the last 16 stage, treatment Nte clan eliminated defending champions Mbogo from this year’s Bika bya Baganda tournament after playing out to a goalless stalemate on Monday at Muteesa II stadium, Wankulukuku.

The game which was supposed to be played last week but was washed out after a heavy downpour midway through the game was replayed starting afresh.

Nte dominated the proceedings in the first half but failed to put away the numerous chances with the best chance falling to Viper’s  youngster Pius Wangi who attempted to lobe the ball over onrushing goalkeeper Bugembe Ashadu but his effort sailed wide and above.

It was a close contest with either side playing a cautious game, it became very physical especially in the middle of the park with Rajab Kakooza and Jimmy “Kachanga” Kakooza manning the Nte midfield while Nyanzi Abdallah patrolling the midfield for Mbogo.

In the end, the game had to be decided on spot kicks to determine who advances to the quarter final stage. Nte converted four of their penalties with Pius Wangi, Henry Katongole, Ivan Ssempijja and John Bosco Ssemugenyi scoring while Alex Lutakoome and Nyanzi Henry scored for Mbogo. Henry Kakooza missed on the Nte side whereas James Kasibante and Sserugo Godfrey missed for defending champions.

Action resumes on Wednesday with two quarter final games. Njovu who ejected Mpindi will take on Balangira while last year’s finalists, Nkima will face Nsenene.

Mbogo’s starting XI
Fahad Katongole, Hayatu Ssempijja,Ivan Ssempijja,Sam Ssenkoomi,Henry Katongole,James Kakooza, Mahad Kakooza, Rajab Kakooza, Umar Kasumba,Pius Wangi,Herbert Katongole

Nte’s starting XI
Ashadu Bugembe, Ibrahim Ntwatwa, Moses Mukwaya, Henry Nyanzi, Ssengooba Rogers, Nyanzi Abdallah, James Kasibante, Nyanzi Ronald, Kayiira Joseph, Nelson Ssenkatuka, Sserugo Godfrey.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker