Betty Kamya Defeats Tindyebwa, Others in Rubaga North NRM Primaries

The Minister for Lands Hon Betty Kamya has been declared the winner in the Rubaga North National Resistance Movement (NRM) Party Primaries and thus the flag bearer in the forthcoming general elections.

In the election results declared this evening, Kamya has defeated the other two contestants with a higher margin despite the stiff competition with Brian Tindyebwa earlier.

As per the results read by the Returning Officer Kato Robert, Betty Kamya has gathered  6164 votes, (90.13 %)  followed by Brian Tindyebwa with 671, (9.8%) and lastly Dr. Lawaya Isaac who scored 04 votes, a percentage of 0.05%.

“I therefore declare Betty Kamya Turyomwe who has polled the highest number of votes 6164 representing 90.12% percentage as the duly elected NRM flag bearer for Rubaga North constituency Member of Parliament,” Kato announced.

Meanwhile, in Rubaga South, Charles Kenneth Male has been declared the winner for this election.

In these highly anticipated elections, several incumbent Members of Parliament have not performed as expected after being defeated by ‘new comers’ according to the provisional results so far issued out.

The minsters who have been defeated include Hon Karoro Okurut who has already conceded the defeat, Hon Benna Namugwanya, Hon Evelyn Anite and Hon Betty Atim Anywar among others.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker