latest newsNewsPreviewSliderSport>Basket Ball

Basketball: Uganda Silverbacks, Gazelles Rosters To Face Kenya Revealed

Uganda’s national senior Men (Silverbacks) and Women (Gazelles) teams will face Kenya national teams in friendly clashes on Saturday.

The games are lined up to prepare the sides ahead of the qualifiers of 2019 Africa Cup of Nations and the African Championships.

Uganda’s contingent will depart on Thursday 29, November to Nairobi ahead of the friendlies in Nyayo Stadium, Nairobi.

Flirsh is the captain of the Gazelles.

Stephen Omony (City Oilers) and Flavia ‘Flirsh’ Oketcho will captain the Silverbacks and Gazelles respectively.

Both teams are made up of ten players each. All are locally based – play in the National Basketball league.

Gazelles in a previous game

The two teams (Silverbacks and Gazelles) have been training at Gems Cambridge school and MTN Arena in Lugogo.

Coach Nicholas Natuhereza and Ali Mavita will take charge of the Women team while Coach Mandy Juruni will help out the Silverbacks.

The Silverbacks team that competed at the 2014 Afro basket championship

East Africa’s hottest cake Jamila Nansikombi who was recently named in the All stars team at the concluded 2018 FIBA Africa Women Champions cup will be the star to watch for the Women team.


Against Kenya, Uganda will face familiar faces like Desmond Blacio (Cobras, Australia), Brian Namake (JKL Dolphins, Uganda) and Philip Ameny (Betway Power).

Kenya’s Namake turns out for Uganda’s JKL Dolphins. Courtesy photo

Kenya will face Cameroon on Tuesday night, in one of the other friendly lined up for the team.

Some of the Gazelles players will look to build from their 3*3 experience.

The Teams


Jimmy Enabu (City Oilers), Joseph Ikong (Betway Power), Mark Okidi Opiyo (Warriors), Syrus Kiviiri (Warriors), Ben Komakech (City Oilers), Stephen Omony (City Oilers), Geoffrey Soro (Betway Power), James Okello (City Oilers), Joseph Chuma (KIU Titans) and Stanley Mugerwa (Warriors).

The Gazelles

Flavia Oketcho (JKL), Sylvia Nakazibwe (KCCA), Rita Imanishimwe (JKL), Ekon Brenda (Nkumba), Judith Nansobya (KCCA), Jamila Nansikombi (JKL), Zainah Lokwameri (UCU), Sarah Ageno (UCU), Hope Akello (JKL) and Martha Soigi (KCCA).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker