Baby Cranes Grouped With Hosts Botswana in 2017 World U20 Championship

The twenty teams that will be taking part in next year’s netball youth world cup (U20) have been confirmed and draws made to that effect.

Uganda qualified to the event after a good outing in the continental championships held in Gaborone Botswana in July. The Baby Cranes finished third behind South Africa and Zimbabwe who join hosts Gabon to make up the four African teams.

The 20 finalists come from Europe, click Oceania, tadalafil Americas, Africa and Asia with each continent producing four participants.

The Baby Cranes have been pooled in group C alongside hosts Botswana, Malaysia, Jamaica and Cook Islands in the five group team.

The other two African representatives South Africa and Zimbabwe were drawn in B together with Australia, Barbados and Singapore while the other teams have been spread across the other two groups.

The Draw concluded with the INF President hon. Molly Rhone unveiling the new Netball World Youth Cup trophy “One of the key strategies for the International Netball Federation over the next four years is to ensure our audiences, fans, teams and broadcasters enjoy thrilling world class events. I have no doubt that Botswana will make this a truly spectacular event,” the president said.

“I am also certain this event will enthuse and inspire more young people to play our great sport and leave a lasting legacy, which will grow and develop netball and create an even further positive impact on many young people and their communities.”

The tournament kicks off next year in July and will be hosted in Gaborone.


The groups
A- New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Samoa
B- Australia, South Africa, Barbados, Zimbabwe, Singapore
C- Uganda, Botswana, Malaysia, Jamaica, Cook Islands
D- England, Fiji, Tornado & Tobago, Wales, Grenada

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker