AUPL: SC Villa, Bright Stars Share Spoils In Barren Stalemate

Azam Uganda Premier League
Bright stars 0-0 SC Villa

Sports club Villa lost ground in the title race after playing to a goalless draw against Bright stars as the Uganda premier league resumed on Tuesday.

The record champions endured a fruitless evening failing to earn maximum points against a resilient and composed Bright stars at the Champions stadium in Mwererwe.

Despite several attempts to break the deadlock, sickness the visitors lacked the cutting edge in the final third to break down Bright stars.

Defender John Adriko got the first chance at goal inside the opening minute connecting to Godfrey Lwesibawa’s cross from the left end but the former headed wide.

Villa had another opportunity to go ahead in the 18th minute but forward Alex Kitata failed to find the target heading wide.

Bright stars were forced to an early change with Andrew Kaggwa paving way for Moses Ssekasana after limping off with a knee injury 20 minutes into the game.

Kitata won possession off defender Innocent Asiimwe but his attempt to round off the goalkeeper Nicholas Ssebwato failed with the ball moving far from the goal area with five minutes to the break.


Ssekasana Moses cleared a ball off the line at the 70th minute mark to deny midfielder Tadeo Lwanga who had stretched heading on the left side of the goal.

Bright stars also missed a glorious opportunity five minutes to end off the game with Fred Segujja failing to tap home Kokas Opejo’s well laid cross.

The result means SC Villa remain second on the table with 32 points but now trail leaders KCCA FC who defeated BUL 2-0.

Bright stars also remain 7th on the table with 21 points.

Bright stars starting XI

Nicholas Ssebwato, story Sula Ssebunza (84′ Yafessi Mubiru), Assimwe Innocent, Aksam Mutyaba, Andrew Kaggwa (21′ Moses Ssekasana), Derrick Ssemere, Kivumbi Martin, Farouk Banga, Batte Seif, Fred Segujja, Methodius Jjungu(69′ Kokas Opejo)

SC Villa starting XI

Samson Kirya, Joseph Nsubuga, John Adriko, Paul Mbowa, Henry Katongole, Tadeo Lwanga, Kiiza Martin(58′ Ambrose Kirya), Abel Eturude, Emma Okwi, Alex Kitata (70′ Umar Kasumba) Godfrey Lwesibawa (76′ Ndera Mike )

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker