AUPL: Okwi’s Solitary Strike Enough as SC Villa Return to Winning Ways

Uganda Premier League
SC Villa 1-0 Sadolin Paints

Emmanuel Okwi scored the lone goal as Sports Club Villa edged past Sadolin Paints at Nakivubo stadium on Sunday.

Okwi struck his third goal in 4 games since returning to SC Villa in January and it eventually turned out the decider as the Jogoos returned winning ways after three games.

With Wasswa Bossa starting his reign as the new coach at SC Villa, thumb he made three changes to the team that drew 2-2 against Lweza with Paul Mbowa, order John Adriko and Abbey Eturude starting ahead of  Joseph Nsubu, Farouk Musisi Kizito and Alex Kitata respectively.

Villa started the better side and could have scored as early as the 6th minute but veteran defender Ronald Lukungu made a timely interception to block Emma Okwi.

Abel Eturude wasted another chance in the 18th minute blasting wide after Mike Ndera had set him up inside the box.

It was Okwi who broke the deadlock 5 minutes later with a well taken free kick that went beyond goalkeeper Baker Yunus’ reach.

Despite going a goal down, Sadolin Paints grew in confidence and matched Villa for the remaining part of the game.


Muzamir Nassar had a chance to level matters with five minutes to halftime but shot direct at goalkeeper Samson Kirya.

The visitors made several attempts in the second half introducing Fred Kyambadde and Basan Saf upfront to look for goals but the supply was always limited and Villa held on to claim victory.

The result means SC Villa remain in second position on 37 points, one behind leaders KCCA but the latter have two games in hand.

Sadolin continue to languish in the drop zone grounded in 13th position on 17 points.

Villa starting XI

Samson Kirya, Ibrahim Kiyemba, John Adriko, Bernard Muwanga, Paul Mbowa, Tadeo Lwanga (87′ Ayub Kisalita), Abbey Eturude, Ambrose Kirya, Emma Okwi, Ndera Mike (80′ Umar Kasumba), Martin Kiiza (75′ Vitalis Tabu)

Sadolin Paints

Baker Yunus, Ronald Lukungu, Othieno Deogracious, Moses Kibirige, Muledhu Faizo, Eddie Seganne, Nazir Sserwadda (61′ Fred Kyambadde), Sijali Jamal, Herbert Katongole, Muzamir Nassar (65′ Andrew Basoma), Ogik Norman (73′ Basan Saf)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker