Amb Adonia Appointed Adviser to President UN General Assembly on G77

Uganda’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations (UN) Amb. Adonia Ayebare has been appointed by the President of the UN General Assembly, Bande, as the External Adviser on G77 matters.

In execution of one of the key roles as External Adviser, Amb. Ayebare  is expected to “galvanise efforts to address the common challenges faced by the countries of Global South as well as provide a platform for constructive engagement,” according to Uganda’s Foreign Affairs Ministry.

The South Summit by the G77 and China will be held in Kampala from 17th -19th April 2020.

The Group of 77 (G77) at the United Nations is a coalition of 134 developing nations, designed to promote its members’ collective economic interests and create an enhanced joint negotiating capacity in the United Nations.

There were 77 founding members of the organization, but by November 2013 the organization had since expanded to 134 member countries (including China).

Since China participates in the G77 but does not consider itself to be a member, all official statements are issued in the name of The Group of 77 and China.

Speaking to ChimpReports on Monday evening, Amb Ayebare welcomed the appointment.

“It is always an honor being selected by the President of the UN General Assembly to serve in such capacity,” said Uganda’s too envoy to New York.

“I will build on the role I played during the tenure of the last President by working with member states to make sure South South cooperation becomes an instrument of implementing SDGs,” he added.

The group was founded on 15 June 1964, by the “Joint Declaration of the Seventy-Seven Countries” issued at the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).

The first major meeting was in Algiers in 1967, where the Charter of Algiers was adopted and the basis for permanent institutional structures was begun under the leadership of Raul Prebisch who had previously worked at ECLA.

There are Chapters of the Group of 77 in Geneva (UN), Rome (FAO), Vienna (UNIDO), Paris (UNESCO), Nairobi (UNEP) and the Group of 24 in Washington, D.C. (International Monetary Fund and World Bank).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker