Allan Ssewanyana: It is Time to Trust Local Coaches

After the departure of former Cranes coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredejovic, many have come up to suggest that it is now time to entrust local coaches with the role of training the National Team.

Notable among them is Allan ‘Bwino’ Ssewanyana who is the Member of Parliament for Makindye Division West and also a renowned sports journalist.

“The only problem we have with Ugandan coaches is that the Federation does not want to pay them the amount of salary like they contract to give the foreigners they always bring here,” Ssewanyana told ChimpReports.

“But if they can give them that money and respect, I believe that they can do better than those foreigners.”

Ssewanyana who broke the news that Uganda’s game with South Sudan will be Micho’s last match with the National team, added that if he was to be given the mandate to choose a suitable Cranes coach, he would go for Sam Timbe.

“For starters, I go for Sam Timbe,” he said.

It should be remembered that Sam Timbe is the one who succeeded Micho at SC Villa and he guided them to their 16th Super League title.

Timbe was also in the Uganda Cranes set-up in 2008 that worked with Laszlo Csaba for the 2010 Nations/World Cup qualifiers.


The last time the Cranes had a Ugandan as its coach was way back in 2004 under Mike Hillary Mutebi who is now a coach at KCCA FC.

Mutebi’s last competitive match as a Cranes coach was a 2-0 World cup qualifier loss to Burkina Faso away in Ouagadougou on September 4, 2004.

Since then, the National team has had 4 foreign managers in a space of 13 years.

Muhammed Abbas (2004–2006), Csaba László (2006–2008), Bobby Williamson (2008–2013) and now Milutin Sredojević (2013–2017) have all come and gone.

List of Ugandans to have coached the Uganda National team

Robert Kiberu (19??–1969)

David Otti (1973–1974)

Peter Okee (1976–1981)

Bidandi Ssali (1982)

Peter Okee (1983)

George Mukasa (1984–1985)

Barnabas Mwesiga (1986–1988)

Robert Kiberu (1988–1989)

Polly Ouma (1989–1995)

Timothy Ayieko (1995–1996)

Asuman Lubowa (1996–1999)

Paul Hasule (1999)

Paul Hasule (2001–2003)

Leo Adraa (2003–2004)

Mike Mutebi (2004)

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker