latest newsNewsSliderSport>Cricket

All Set For Soroti Cricket Carnival

The Soroti Cricket carnival is scheduled to take place on December 22, 2018 at Soroti Rugby grounds starting at 10am.

The event, organized by Soroti Cricket Academy is expected to showcase and amplify the game of cricket in Soroti.

The Carnival will feature 5 Men’s and 5 ladies’ sides including Aloet Warriors, Kamuda Riders, Camp swahili Knights, Nakatunya Titans and Senior Quarter Lions.

The event will showcase the cricket talent that the Academy has been able to build over time in its four years of existence.

The Carnival is a Charity event aimed at raising funds to help the academy in smooth running of programs.

The Academy was established in 2014 with a vision of empowering the youth through cricket in Soroti and Teso Sub region and this has been achieved through keeping the Girl Child in School.

The academy has issued out bursaries, donated books and has carried out coaching sessions in various primary and secondary schools.

National team players like Apio Joyce Mary, Alumo Irene Anyipo Everlyn and Illoku Esther have all passed through the Soroti academy.


On a yearly basis, the academy organizes January Holiday Camp, U-13 Mini Cricket Challenge for Primary schools, U-15 secondary schools tennis ball challenge, U-18 Musana Cup for secondary schools boys and girls, December Holiday camp and many others for cricketers in order to improve their skills.

The pool of talent has enabled the formation of 3 clubs that are managed by the academy. These compete in the national cricket league namely, Olila High School, Soroti Challengers CC for the ladies and Soroti Blazers Cc for the gentlemen.

Soroti Cricket Academy’s Success Story:

Olila High Cricket Club were crowned winner in the 6s Challenge december 2018.

Olila High Cricket Club won the Mehta T20 ladies league 2017

Soroti Challengers won the Ladies Division Two title 2018

Soroti Islamic Primary school won the National U-13 girls Tournament 2018

Olila High Cricket club runners up in the National Ladies Division one league 2018 and 2107

Olila High Cricket Club Runners up in the Mehta T20 ladies league 2018

Olila High Cricket Club won the Ladies Division Two Title 2016

Soroti Blazers Cricket club finished 2nd in the National mens Division 2 league 2018

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker