latest newsNewsSliderSport>Soccer

All set for New look Friday Night Lights Basketball Eighth Season


The season of intense and competitive basketball is gone and there is no need for guessing, City Oilers cruised to yet another championship, their sixth in a row.

It’s now time for basketball that will not require anyone to spend sleepless nights planning.

Friday Night Lights Basketball is back and if the organisers’ word is anything to go by, this will be bigger and better.

First of all the venue will not be YMCA like has been the case for the last seven editions.

The eighth edition will be hosted at Panamera Bar with a totally different set up.

There will be ten teams to entertain the crowds in 3×3 form of basketball and not the 5 aside that ruled the previous editions.

Organiser Tom Ocamringa revealed that they will maintain the old fashion of fusing basketball with lifestyle and the night life.


He also added that moving to Panamera is one of the ways of trying to bridge the gap between entertainment and basketball.

The event will run for eight Fridays from November 9 to January 18 with eight games expected every night.

Each side in the competition will be composed of 3 NBL players, two ladies, and three fans to make eight players.

The three on court must be a lady, a fan and a male professional player for each side.

Each game will run for 15 minutes.

Uganda Breweries under their brand Tusker Lite will be the lead sponsors of the event as they continue with their relationship with local basketball.

They were sponsors for the recently concluded playoffs and also sponsor the national 3×3 teams.

“We shall always be there to help basketball grow into the country’s leading sport. We are grateful to be part of the FNL and I wish all the teams the best” said Cathy Twesigye, the UBL head of premium beer.

Roke Telekom, Sprite and Next Radio are some of the other partners.

The last two editions of FNL were won by Team Otim that was captained by now US based guard Jonah Otim.

Team Madol (Athiu Wal Madol)

Team Josh (Josh Johnson)

Team Flirsh (Oketcho Flavia)


Team Kikiri (Guddi Nasser)

Fahmy (Fahmy Ssebatindira)

Team Zama (Jamila Nansikombi)

Team Soro (Geoffrey Soro)

Enabu (Jimmy Enabu)

Team Ikong (Joseph Ikong).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker