AFCON: Yaya Toure, Drogba, Etoo Named Ambassadors Of Egypt Finals

The Confederation of African Football, CAF, has appointed five African legends to be ambassadors at this year’s Africa Cup of Nations.

The five include the tournament’s top scorer Samuel Eto’o, four times CAF player of the year Yaya Toure his compatriot Didier Drogba, Nigerian legend Nwanko Kanu, El Hadji Diouf and 1990 AFCON winner Rabeh Madjer from Algeria.

The competition, first of its kind expanded 24-team edition, kicks off on Friday 21st June and run up to July 19th.

Eto’o, a two-time champion with Cameroon in 2000 and 2002 was crowned the best player on the continent in 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010.

Toure has won the best player four times, the most by any player, in a row from 2011 to 2015.

Djiouf, a key player in Senegal’s golden generation of 2002 World Cup is the only one from his country to win the CAF player of the year.

Kanu featured in six finals for a decade from the 2000 edition to 2010. He won the best player in 96 and 99.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker