AFCON: Senegal, Algeria Coaches Make Case for Local Coaches

Only eleven coaches out of the 24 at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations are natives of the continent.

Of them, ten coach their native countries while one, Emmanuel Amunike from Nigeria, coached a different national team, Tanzania.

The rest are from outside the continent with France leading by providing seven, one from Serbia, Netherlands, Mexico, Belgium, Germany, and England with one each.

But of all those, none will walk out of the Cairo International stadium’s dugout on Friday when the final match is played. In short, none of the imports will lift the trophy.

That is because, the final is between Senegal, coached by their former captain Aliou Cisse, and Algeria handled by Djamel Belmadi.

That fact has stirred a conversation around with most fans and pundits questioning why the football associations spend huge amounts of money on those coaches instead of investing in their own.
It is reported that before Senegal appointed Aliou Cisse four years ago, their FA and ministry of sports had Frenchman Alain Giresse in mind.


That it took the intervention of some of the stars who played alongside Cisse in their World Cup 2002 fairy-tale including El Hadji Diouf to convince the powers that be to believe in Cisse.


He was given the job and managed to reach the quarter-finals in 2017, qualified for World Cup 2018 and beat the same Giresse to reach their second final last weekend.

Algeria’s coach, Belmadi, did not shy away from the topic when questioned by the media as he stated that –he and Cisse reaching the final- was a message to decision-makers of the game.

“I believe this is a message for all football stakeholders in our continent. A young local coach can write history and produce some good football,” he boldly stated.

Coaches that handled teams at the AFCON 2019 with their nationality.
1. Algeria: Djamel Belmadi (Algerian)
2. Angola: Srdjan Vasiljevic (Serbian)
3. Benin: Michel Dussuyer (French)
4. Burundi: Olivier Niyungeko (Burundian)
5. Cameroon: Clarence Seedorf (Dutch)
6. DR Congo: Florent Ibengé (Congolese)
7. Egypt: Javier Aguirre (Mexican)
8. Ghana: Kwesi Appiah (Ghanaian)
9. Guinea: Paul Put (Belgian)
10. Guinea Bissau: Baciro Candé (Bissau)
11. Ivory Coast: Ibrahim Kamara (Ivorian)
12. Kenya: Sébastien Migné (French)
13. Madagascar: Nicolas Dupuis (French)
14. Mali: Mohamed Magassouba (Malian)
15. Mauritania: Corentin Martins (French)
16. Morocco: Herve Renard (French)
17. Namibia: Fillemon Kanalelo (Namibian)
18. Nigeria: Gernot Rohr (German)
19. Senegal: Aliou Cissé (Senegalese)
20. South Africa: Stuart Baxter (English)
21. Tanzania: Emmanuel Amunike (Nigeria)
22. Tunisia: Alain Giresse (French)
23. Uganda: Sébastien Desabre (French)
24. Zimbabwe: Sunday Chidzambwa (Zimbabwean).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker