Footballlatest newsSport

Afcon 2017:Miya Ends Uganda’s 38 -Year Drought

Farouk Miya’s 34th minute strike was enough for Uganda to break the 38-year jinx of failing to qualify for the Africa cup of nations.

The victory over Comoros ensured the Cranes ended with thirteen points same e as group D winners Burkina Faso who needed a late winner to see off Botswana.

First half action  

Uganda kicked off with explosive gear creating chance after chance.

As early as the first minute, view skipper Geoffrey Massa almost got Uganda the lead but he failed to connect to Joseph Ochaya’s cross.

The visitors got the first attempt on goal in the 7th minute when Bakar Djamel powered a shot just outside the area but Dennis Onyango was in position to collect the ball with ease.

From then onwards, prescription it was all about cranes with the visitors creating chance after chance. Comoros goalkeeper denied Moses Oloya in the 10th minute saving the wingers effort off the line.

Cranes players celebrate Farouk Miya's goal on Sunday.(PHOTOS:Kenneth Kazibwe/Chimpreports)
Cranes players celebrate Farouk Miya’s goal on Sunday.

The special moment came ten minutes to halftime when Oloya laid up Miya to break the deadlock. Mawejje picked up Miya with a defence splitting pass but Miya failed at the first attempt with goalkeeper Ahamada saving but the rebounding ball fell to Oloya who laid to Miya to fire into the net and give Uganda a deserved halftime lead.


Second Half

The visitors started the second half with Ahamada Kombo testing Onyango two minutes after but the burly goalkeeper stood firm to send the ball for a corner.

Micho called for the first change in the 53rd minute with Luwagga Kizito paving way for Emmanuel Owi.

Cranes almost doubled the lead in the 65th minute following a quick exchange between Wadada and Oloya put the formers effort went a few inches off target.

Cranes held to the lead until the final whistle barring off pressure from Comoros who worked hard to level matters.

Cranes XI

Dennis Onyango, Nicholas Wadada, Joseph Ochaya, Murshid Jjuuko, Isaac Isinde, Khalid Aucho, Tonny Mawejje, Luwagga Kizito(Okwi 53), Moses Oloya(Walusimbi 84), Miya Farouk, Geoffrey Massa(Wasswa 90).

Unused Subs

Salim Jamal, Ivan Ntege, Yunus Ssentamu,Geoffrey Sserunkuuma

Comoros XI

Ahamada Ali, Abdou Nadsim, Bachirou Fouad, Mohamed El Fardou, Mchangama Youssouf, Bakar Djamel, Ahamada Kassim, Kombo Ahamadi, Youssouf Ben,Chamed Nasser,Youssouf Madi.

Additional reporting by Fred Mwambu.




Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker