Kadaga Refuses To Fire NRM Rebels From Parliament

sildenafil geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 115%;”>Speaking during the plenary session, Kadaga said: “The Constitution provides no provision on the expulsion of Members of Parliament.”

She added: “Expelled NRM MPs cannot lose their seats after expulsion by the political party.”

The Speaker declared that Theodore Ssekikuubo (Lwemiyaga County), Mr Mohammad Nsereko (Kampala Central), Mr Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) and Mr Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga West) still have their seats in Parliament.

The announcement is a big relief to the supporters of the embattled legislators who had feared that the latter’s expulsion from the party would see them quit the August House.


Kadaga elaborated that the same issue was brought before Parliament during the amendment exercise in 2005 and the clause was deleted.

Observers say Kadaga’s ruling is likely to deepen the rift between Parliament and the executive, considering that the NRM Secretary General, Hon. Amama Mbabazi had written to the Speaker requesting her to throw the legislators out of parliament.

A statement read by the Amama Mbabazi on April 15 stated that effective from April 14, four MPs were expelled by the Central Executive Committee while the Rwampara legislator, Vincent Kyamadidi given a three months suspension for alleged indiscipline.

The MPs were accused of forming cliques and perpetuating intrigue within NRM to undermine the party structures.

They were also accused of attacking the President in public and diverting from the official party position.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker