73 Judicial Officers Transferred in the New Changes

The Chief Registrar, Ms. Sarah Langa Siu, has made changes in the judicial officers where 73 have been transferred to new stations

The transfers released on 15th December 2020 affect one Registrar, five Deputy Registrars, two Assistant Registrars, three Chief Magistrates, and 63 Magistrate Grade Ones.

According to the Registrar, the new transfers are intended to improve service delivery in the  Judiciary.

“These transfers will be effective on 1st January 2021,” said Ms. Langa.

“Majority of the magistrates have spent three years at a given station, so we had to move them. Many judicial officers are due for transfer, but we shall have to do this in a phased manner because transfers have financial implications,” she said.

Ms. Susan Kanyange has been moved from the Commercial Division of the High Court to replace her Court of Appeal counterpart, Godfrey Opifeni, who retires from service in January 2021.

Also in the transfers, some Chief Magistrates have been assigned additional responsibilities of caretaking High Court registries due to the limited number of Registrars to undertake the responsibilities.

“We are still grappling with the issue of numbers, especially in the Registrars and Chief Magistrates’ ranks, and that is the reason we have not made many changes there,” said the Chief Registrar.


The Assistant Registrars include  Kaitesi Mary Lukwago who has been moved from  Criminal to  Commercial Court, Kaweesa Godfrey Research from.Judicial Training Institute to Lira High Court as well as Dr. Nakibuule Gladys Kisekka has been moved from  Lira High Court Research, judicial Training institute

Others are Ayebare Thadius Tumwebaze from  Court of Appeal to Private Legal Secretary of the Chief Justice, Festo Nsenga from  Family Division Criminal Division.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker