Spain Vow To Rule For Years

And they mean to stay the masters of world football for a long time yet, after giving Italy a masterclass.

Victory in Kiev last night made the sizzling senors the first side to win three consecutive major tournaments — Euro 2008, the 2010 World Cup and Euro 2012 — and the first to retain the European crown.

Ex-Liverpool full-back Alvaro Arbeloa then declared: “Our aim now is to continue winning trophies in the years to come. We are very proud of what we have done.”

Goals from David Silva, Jordi Alba and subs Fernando Torres and Juan Mata sunk Cesare Prandelli’s 10-man side.

The four-goal triumph was a Euros final best and showed that to try to brand Vicente del Bosque’s superb side as ‘boring’ is a joke.

Skipper Iker Casillas said: “It’s the most marvellous moment in the history of Spanish football.


“For the players everything came out perfectly. Everyone performed brilliantly.”

Cesc Fabregas, who made the first goal for Silva, admitted: “This feels one of the best days of my life.

“Three major trophies in a row has never been done before. It’s difficult to realise what we have done.”

Torres made it 3-0 with just six minutes left to clinch the Golden Boot ahead of five other rivals on three goals.

Italy had to play the last half-hour with 10 men after losing sub Thiago Motta.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker