Gov’t Gazettes Critical Wetlands

viagra 40mg geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 150%;”>The demarcation exercise in critical wetlands in Kampala mainly Kinawataka, tadalafil Lubigi and Nakivubo systems is on-going and so far 32kms have been covered. The exercise in the Nakivubo wetland system involved planting of 72 pillars around the section of the boundary covered.

visit geneva;”>

The exercise also been done in Kansanga wetlands systems covering 18kms and Nyanama & Lutembe systems covering 46kms, and the kyetinda wetland system exercise has so far covered 5kms.

The municipal wetlands located in Gulu, Lira, Mbale, Bushenyi, Masaka and Jinja are also being demarcated. Wetlands management plans which optimizes wetland resources for income generation to local communities are prepared in the process to ensure that communities are a party and involved in the management of the ecosystem.

Demarcation of wetland ecosystems is part of the activities funded under the Environment and natural Resources (ENR) district conditional grants disbursed directly by MFPED to districts on a quarterly basis. The following is the cumulative performance since 2011:

The area/length of wetland boundary demarcated by local government (LGs) stands at 107.6km in the districts of Bushenyi, Gulu, Kamwenge, Isingiro, Rakai, Kasese, Kabarole and Wakiso


Area of degraded section of wetland restored by LG is 816ha in the districts of Amuria, Mbarara, Mubende, Hoima, Gulu, Kole, Apac, Kabarole, Kasese, Oyam, Yumbe, Moyo, Rubirizi, Ntungamo, Kisoro, Mbarara, Adjumani, Ntungamo, Mubende, Kabarole, Hoima, Moyo and Luwero.

Government attaches great importance to fragile Ecosystems for the intrinsic and economic value these offer to livelihoods. As such Uganda is a party to various international conventions on these matters and has prioritized these activities in its national and sector planning frame works. Form 2011, ministry embarked on restoration of degraded and protection of fragile ecosystems in selected parts of the country and the following has been achieved.

A total of 13 management plans were developed and are now implemented in Okole in Lira, Rwizi in Mbarara, Namatala-Doho in Mbale, Ssezibwa in Mukono, Kyamugambire in Bushenyi, Kiiha-Kacukura in Masindi, Mohora in Kabarole, Kanzutsu and Kahokya in Kasese district. These frameworks ensure that communities are involved and supported to promote wise use of the ecosystems under a win-win-win situation for the environment, people and wildlife.

Restore and protect the threatened or endangered tree species such as Shea nut tree, tamarind Uganda and west Nile.

Government has since embarked on a concerted programme to promote awareness on conservation of these tree species. Plans were also developed and partnerships are on-going with projects and NGOs to promote tree planting i.e. tree talk, GEF and UNDP/GOU.

Considering that the country is faced with increased environmental degradation and climate change the ministry of water and environment has given special priority to protection of water catchment to address these challenges and ensure that water resources related projects are sustainable.

We have developed a framework for catchment based water resources management and development where all stakeholders are brought together to address issues that affect them through preparation and implementation of catchment.

Management and development plans (CMPs). The CMPs include priority actions for development and management of water resources to meet the needs of the various socio-economic activities. So far CMPs have been prepared for 7 catchment in the country namely; Rwizi catchment in south-western Uganda, Mpanga and Semliki catchment in western Uganda, Aswa catchment in northern Uganda, Lwakhaha catchment in Eastern Uganda and Okok and Awoja catchments in northeastern Uganda.

Work is also ongoing in 4 other catchments of Katonga, Kagera, Wamala and Mporogoma. Implementation of priority actions identified as presented in the CMPs such as afforestation, wetlands restoration, river bank restoration, water harvesting, water resources monitoring and mapping, water permitting etc. has already been initiated in each of the 7 catchments.

The national forestry Authority (NFA) is conserving all natural forests primary as water catchment areas. There is also promotion of tree planting on the catchment area with indigenous species through the national community tree planting project.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker