2021 RACE: FDC’s Kakwenza to Tussle Paula Turyahikayo in Rubabo

Forum for Democratic Change party member, Kakwenza Rukirabashaija has declared intentions to end Hon Paula Turyahikayo’s uninterrupted three terms in Parliament.

Kakwenza, 32, is to face 11 other candidates in Rubabo county, Rukingiri district, which has been represented by Mrs. Turyahikayo since 2006.

A journalist by training, practicing philanthropist, Law student and a farmer, Kakwenza told ChimpReports over the weekend about his plans.

“Mine is a participatory approach based on the recognition that all people in Rubabo county have abilities and assets that can be developed to help them improve their lives,” said Kakwenza.

He also aspires to improve the agricultural practices since majority of the constituents significantly depend on farming as the main economic activity.

“Because majority people in the constituency depend of agriculture, methods will be improved such that people have plenty of food, milk and the surplus sold to generate incomes or some preserved for food security,” he added.

Other people eyeing the same seat on FDC ticket are; Naboth Natumanya and Ainembabazi Hillary. The ruling National Resistance Movement party seven candidates including Paula, Alex Rugonde, Moses Kabari, David Ndidirize, Maj (Rtd) Godfrey Katamba Barambwire, Peter Kakurugu and Beingana Davis.

There are three independent candidates including Rwabatongore Rweishe Wilber, Nickson Kaliisa and Mugisha Peter.


Rubabo was for long represented by Prof. Mondo Kagonyera, then Minister of General Duties until 2006 when Paula defeated him in NRM primaries. He retired from elective politics.


Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker