2020 Masaza Cup Officially Launched

The long awaited 2020 Masaza Cup tournament was officially launched on Tuesday during a press conference held at Bulange Gardens in Mengo.

In attendance were Airtel’s Managing Director Manoj Murali, Buganda Kingdom’s Premiere Owek Charles Peter Mayiga, who represented the Kabaka of Buganda, and the Sports Minister Henry Sekabembe Kiberu.

The tournament should have kicked off in July 2020 but was was postponed to December 12th due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

During the launch, the Buganda Kingdom premiere called upon every individual to participate as the championship.

“We’ve got a very big and extensive natural talent and the Masaza Cup tournament has been a unifying factor. Everyone is free to participate irrespective of political persuasion or nationality and sports has brought us to the international stage such as Dennis Onyango (South Africa), Farouk Miya (Turkey) among others who represent Uganda as a whole,” Mayiga said.

He added, “It’s very important to regard sports as a resource and support sports persons and prioritize Sports among the young people. I can assure all of the participants that their involvement in this year’s edition doesn’t end in vein. I urge all the sports lovers to be vigilant about the Covid-19 pandemic and be worry of HIV AIDs.”

Mayiga also noted that each team will be given Shs 4,000,000 to aid preparations courtesy of Buganda Kingdom.

Bulemezi Ssaza lifted the 2019 Masaza Cup following a 1-0 victory over Busiro in extra time at Mandela National Stadium in Namboole.


Bulemeezi and Butambala will face each other in the opener at the FUFA Technical Center, Njeru.

Masaza Cup Groups

Butikiro Group – Bulemeezi, Ssingo, Bululi, Mawogola, Butambala

Bulange Group – Busiro, Buvuma, Kyaggwe, Buwekula, Busujju

Masengere Group – Kyadondo, Bugerere, Kooki, Mawokota

Muganzirwaza Group – Buddu, Ssese, Gomba, Kabula

Masaza Cup Previous Winners:

2019 – Bulemeezi

2018 – Singo

2017 – Gomba

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Singo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012 – Bulemeezi

2011 – Buluuli

2010 – Not held

2009 – Gomba

2008 – Kyadondo

2007 – Mawokota

2006 – Kooki

2005 – Mawokota

2004 – Gomba

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker