South Sudan

Museveni Meets AU Commission of Inquiry On S.Sudan

medicine sans-serif;”>The commission, according to Sarah Kagingo, the President’s Special Assistant for Communications, is led by the Chairman, His Excellency Olusegun Obasanjo, former President of Nigeria.

Other members of the Commission present include; Executive Secretary Mr. Olabisi Dare, Gender Specialist Ms Simone Yankey Quattara (in pic), Political Affairs Officer Mr. John Ikubaje, Ms Lulit Getacher Office of Legal Counsel, Mr. Oyabami Akande Special Assistant to President Obasanjo and Mr. Ahmed Kamal from the Communication department of the African Union.

The Commission was in Kenya last week where they met Foreign Affairs Minister Amina Mohammed representing President Uhuru Kenyatta.

They are slated to meet Sudan and South Sudan leaders next week.

The AU Commission of Inquiry on South Sudan was instituted in March this year to investigate human rights violations and other abuses committed during the armed conflict that broke out in South Sudan in mid-December 2013.


The Chairperson of the African Union Commission, H.E. Dr. Nkosazana DlaminiZuma, said the Commission was established in implementation of a decision of the AU Peace and Security Council (PSC) made by Heads of State and Government.

The Commission led by former President Olusegun Obasanjo, and others members; Professor Mahmood Mamdani, Ms. Bineta Diop and Professor Pacifique Manirakiza, held its inaugural meeting in the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa where it took oath to orchestrate its duties as mandated.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker