2 Rubanda Sub Counties Moved to Kabale Amid City Preparations

Rubanda District Council has passed the motion for the annexation of Bubare Sub County and three parishes of Nyamweru Sub County to Kabale district local government.

The move is meant to help with expansion of Kabale Municipality that was recently elevated to city status by parliament.

Kabale Municipality was among the six municipalities that were elevated to city status and is to become operational in 2023.

The motion was presented on Monday during the council sitting that was presided over by the Rubanda district speaker Gerald Akambasa.

As per the motion, all the parishes of Bubaare Sub County, namely; Kagarama, Kibuzigye, Bubaare, Kihanga, Kashenyi, Kitojo, Nyamiyaga and Bushuura; as well as three parishes of Nangara, Bigungiro and Bwayu in Nyamweru Sub county are to be annexed to Kabale district local government to form Kabale City.

Article 179 of the constitution permits district councils to make such boundary alterations for lower government units.

The motion was however, opposed by the Nyamweru sub county councilor Justus Owoyesiga Kakwenza who claimed that the councilors has been ambushed by district executive.

“We thought we were called here to pass, only to find this motion. No one has been consulted about this,” he said.


Kakwenza also worries that foe the remaining three parishes of Nyamweru, Kakyenaga and Kyokyezo, their population is too little to form a sub county.

However, the Rubanda district chairman Kenneth Jogo Biryabarema says they consulted every stakeholder in the district and that those who say they were never consulted are trying to be populists.

The motion was later on passed overwhelmingly.

Kabale municipality that was in 1985 elevated to a municipality with three divisions of central, northern and southern and 12 parishes.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker