EC Finalises Plan to Oust Lukwago, Rebel MPs

help http://cyclopeperu.com/wp-admin/includes/class-automatic-upgrader-skin.php geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>The Lord Mayor, http://charlieacourt.com/wp-includes/feed-rss.php Erias Lukwago, and the four rebel MPs; Hon Muhammed Nsereko of Kampala Central, Hon Theodore Sekikuubo of Lwemiyaga, Hon Barnabus Tinkasimiire of Buyaga West and Winfred Nuwagaba of Ndorwa East, all lost their seats following court rulings against them.

“I would like to warn all candidates and voters to observer the election rules and guidelines because this time, the security will be tight throughout the entire election process,” Kiggundu said.

He further advised all those who have been occupying those positions to participate since there is no law limiting them.

The commission has set March 15-19, 2014 for updating the National Voters’ Registers in all the above constituencies.

During this exercise, all Ugandans above the age of 18 years residing or originating from parishes in those constituencies who didn’t have their photographs and bio data taken by the commission before will have a chance to do so.


Those who would wish to transfer to new voting constituencies will be allowed to do it in this period.

The Voters’ Register will later be displayed at all polling stations starting from March 27 to April 17, 2014 beginning at 8.00am up to 6.00pm including weekends.

Candidates will be nominated on Monday March 31, and Tuesday April 1, followed by an inspection period of seven days where the general public will have access to candidates’ qualification papers.

The electorates will have a chance to present to the commission complaints of any candidate just in case.

The candidates will have eleven days starting from April 3-15, to carry out their campaigns throughout their constituencies.

Actual voting shall take place on April 17, 2014 at all polling stations in all the above mentioned constituencies.

Election observers will be accredited starting from April 2-14.

Meanwhile, fundraising activities have been banned from all the constituencies where elections will take place.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker