Kinawa to Lead 2014 Joan Cox Championships

order geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>The two-day tournament will feature over 32 girls secondary schools and 10 primary Schools nationwide and is expected to raise the year’s greatest competition, in this gender, especially with the revamping of traditional big teams such as Nabisunsa, Trinity College Nabbingo and St Joseph’s girls Nsambya.

UVF Schools commission Chief Edgar Karungi has again sternly warned that schools which field mercenaries or over aged players shall be disqualified from the tournament with a likelihood of further punishment. Also, the requirement to field only two foreign players and under 21 years of age will be enforced.

The foreign players’ limitation was introduced a few years ago to assure more exposure opportunities for Ugandan youth.

The playing categories have been revised to suit the FIVB standards.

The all-girls event will also feature the under 16 category preferably senior ones and senior twos, under 14 mainly from primary schools besides the senior category.


This will open up opportunities for schools that normally field only one team to have a chance to field players who are just beginning to learn the basics of volleyball.

Joan Cox Memorial Most valuable player Agwang Edida Doreen from Kinawa Mugogo will have to work up her attack trade to evade likely targeted resistance from tall Mary hill girls and Trust High School.

Expected top teams include Gayaza high School, Bweranyangi, Maryhill Mbarara, Nabisunsa, Trinity College Nabbingo, Mount St Mary’s Namagunga, Katikamu SDA, Kawempe Muslims, St Bridget girls Insingiro, Dabani girls among others.

The two day tournament is sponsored by Crown Beverages under the mirinda brand and Movit.

Past Winners:

2013 Trust High School

2012, Maryhill High School Mbarara

2011, Trust High School

2010, Trust High School

2009, Katik

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker