Motocross Revs Up 2013

approved geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>Save for the “big politics” in the background, more about the sport grew in numbers as seen at this year’s first motocross championship held at Garuga where 81 entries were registered.

However, rain has been a common theme throughout the full throttle nationals, with four of the eight rounds taking a pelting; but this was actually a blessing in disguise as it helped settle the dust.

The board-room politics that excluded some riders, gave others like Jesse Kamstra a chance to lift the championship in the absence of “potential’’ riders.

And this can explain why before Arthur Blick went for a retirement, he could dominate the game constantly because he was a regular participant.

Motocross can entertain if it chooses, depending how experienced the rider is

Garuga seemed to be the only track to have been used since riders were denied access to Lubiri by authorities.


Politically, Busiika that may be regarded as the standard track couldn’t be used.

MX 65CC was the only competitive category and mainly between Fortune Ssentamu and Wazil Ali Omar and their title had to be decided on the last day of the season which finally fellow into the hands of Ssentamu on 552 points, only 14 points above Omar.

In the regional contest, Uganda lost this season to neighbours Kenya after the three rounds and on the continental level, Uganda came out fourth in an event held in South Africa.

Uganda’s loss has always been attributed to lack of funds to facilitate riders for outside competitions.

Yet some riders couldn’t make it to represent the country due to some other obligations.

A rider showcases his skills

Maximo Van Pee has always been away for his studies in Canada and to prove his ability in motocross, he took part in only four of the eight rounds but he finished fourth with 267 points, only 141points behind this year’s champion, Jesse Kamstra, who took part in all the eight rounds.

Winners in each category:


Jesse Kamstra 408

Ashraf Mbabazi 378

Yassin Bukala 324


Talha Kiggundu 504

Fatuh Kiggundu 468

Ahmed Tamale 434


Alestair Blick 565

Ali Omar Yasser 546

Ham Kamstra 433


Fortune Ssentamu 552

Wazir Ali Omar 538

Joshua Mwangala 455


Waleed Ali Omar 560

Ben Nsumba 489

Aslan Farooq 487

MX50CC Junior

Isabella Blick 208

Ashi Mbabazi 116

Arnold Nyanzi 72

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker