New KCCA Councillors Sworn-In

nurse sans-serif; color: #444444;”>The four councillors who were elected on Tuesday to constitute the Kampala Capital City Authority council include; Mr Frank Kanduho, representing the Uganda Law Society, Verna Mwinganisa Mbabazi (Uganda Society of Architects), Eng Karuma Kagyina (Uganda Institution of Professional Engineers) and Dr Denson Nyabwana (Uganda Medical and Dental Practitioners’ Association).

Speaking at the same event, Jennifer Musisi said that the election of the councilors was long overdue but was at last accomplished to the advantage of the authority.

“The councilors are very vital in service delivery and will now aid in the improvement of the city which is still in a poor state as compared to the other cities in the world,” Musisi pointed out.

These councilors were accordingly elected to represent professional bodies as mandated by the KCCA Act.

The councillors were elected following a ministerial directive to fully constitute the council.


The guidelines for the election of the councillors for the professional bodies had been passed into law by a statutory instrument in June 2012 by the former acting Kampala minister, Muruli Mukasa.

However, opposition members have already trashed the swearing-in ceremony claiming that Lukwago should have been the right person to preside over the function and not the executive director.

According to them, these councilors were not elected on the mandate of the people which makes the whole process null and invalid.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker