Rebel MPs Now Turn To Supreme Court For Survival

pharmacy sans-serif;”>This follows the ruling of the constitutional court on Friday that ordered the Speaker of Parliament to stop the embattled legislators from entering and engaging in parliamentary activities.viagra sale sans-serif;”>

check sans-serif;”>

However, this may be revoked by the Supreme Court which is to start hearing an appeal by the expelled legislators – challenging the composition of the 3 Hon Justices sitting as a Constitutional Court on September 9.

The MPs Theodore Ssekikuubo (Lwemiyaga County), Mohammed Nsereko (Kampala central), Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga county) and Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) in their preliminary objection, argued that as per article 135, the Justices of the Constitutional Court are supposed to be 5 and not 3 as they were – which the Justices overruled.

The MPs had also contested the decision of Acting Chief Justice, Hon. Justice Steven Kavuma decision not to discontinue himself from hearing the application arguing that he is likely to handle it when he goes to the Supreme Court – the judges also overruled this.

They argued that it could be speculative to assert that Acting Chief Justice, the fact that he undertakes administrative decisions, as a ground to disqualify himself is baseless arguing that the Hon. Chief Justice, Hon Deputy Chief Justice and the Hon Principal Judge have always participated in trials.


The Constitutional Court has today ruled that the four expelled MPs from the National Resistance Movement be temporarily stopped from accessing Parliament or participate in the business of the House pending determination of the main petition filed by their party.

With today’s ruling, the MPs will temporarily stay out of Parliament until the Constitutional Court makes a final ruling regarding their fate.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker