Butebo Poll: EC warns Against Violence

viagra 40mg http://cnafinance.com/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/sal/class.json-api-post-base.php geneva;”>Everybody taking part in the process has been advised to be law-abiding before, buy http://courtneybarnett.com.au/wp-includes/cache.php during and after the polling process to ensure a smooth conduct and conclusion of the by-election.

mind geneva;”>

The remarks were made on Tuesday by Electoral Commission chairman Eng. Badru Kiggundu, while addressing the press at his office in Kampala.

“The commission will work with the police to ensure a peaceful free and fair election. Any person or parties who may be aggrieved are urged to report to police authorities who shall address their issues,” he said.

He added that the EC has established a complaints desk at Kararaka Primary School in Butebo Sub County, which will have a toll free line 0800777022 and a GSM line 0392745215.

“Election officials on this desk will receive and handle any complaints that may arise out of the by election from 7am to 5pm on the polling day.”


Recent by-elections have been marred by physical fights between opposition and ruling party supporters. On some occasions, Police have intervened to quell the violence.

The Butebo sub county parliamentary seat fell vacant mid last April following the untimely demise of the area MP and Minister for disaster and preparedness, the late Stephen Mallinga.

Seven candidates have since been nominated to tussle it out for the seat and their campaigns officially close on June, 4.

They include DP’s Ziwa Daidi, NRM’s Mutono Lodoi Partick, and FDC’s Khalwa Samuel.

Independent candidates are Aisu Elizabeth, Kashodo Elia, Oseku Anthony and Sajjabi Yotha.

The entire nomination process so far has been described as peaceful and greatly commended by the EC.

Kiggundu further advised designated candidates’ agents to report to the offices of the district returning officer on 5th June to observe the dispatch of the poling kit to their respective sub-counties.

He noted: “We have made adequate administrative, logistical and security arrangements to ensure that all the 90 polling stations in Butebo get their materials in time for the polls to commence as early as possible.”

With about 52800 voters expected to turn up for the polls, the commission has accredited various observers from the civil society to closely monitor developments there, which include Democracy Monitoring Group, Democracy and Governance Facility, as well as Citizen Coalition for Electoral Democracy.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker