Rwenzori Beaten To Bamburi Crown

seek geneva;”>illness sans-serif;”>Bamburi final

Ndovu 24 Rwenzori 18

Third place play-off

Nyumbu 21 Papa 44

Man of the Series: Martin Muita (Ndovu)

Top scorer: Martin Muita (Ndovu)


Top try scorer: Lawrence Buyachi (Ndovu)

This was their second straight Bamburi final after they lost to another Kenyan franchise, defunct UAP Rhinos in 2012.

Top Fry who were unbeaten in their journey to the finals dominated the first half of the match with three tries. Javan Marayi put his name on the score sheet on the 13th minute while Michael Okombe made a try in the 26th minute.

Danger man Lawrence Buyachi closed the first half with a try in the last minute before the break. Earlier in the 18th minute Ruwenzori’s Joseph Aredo had converted a penalty and this saw the half end with score being 15-3 in favor of the Kenyan franchise.

The second half saw Ruwenzori up their game with two tries and a conversion in a span of 8 minutes.

Acting coach Tolbert Onyango made changes replacing Ronald Adigas with Solomon Mawanda and Davis Kiwalabye for Faizal Gama in the scrum half while Mathew Egeru replaced Asuman Mugerwa

Gamma Faisal made his mark on the 72nd minute followed by Denis Etuket in the 80th minute. Joseph Aredo thereafter did well when he stepped up and confirmed the conversion kick.

Ndovu’s which comprises mainly of Nakuru RFC players , three penalty kicks in the 47th,56thand 63rd minutes half were enough to see them through and be crowned champions.

Rwenzori received a trophy and a cash prize of ksh250, 000 (approx. sh7.8m) while champions Ndovu received a cash prize of Ksh400, 000.

2003: Rhinos 27 Cheetahs 11

2004: Cheetahs 32 Lions 22

2005: Buffaloes 27 Lions 26

2006: Cheetahs 29 Lions 27

2007: Rhinos 28 Lions 20

2008: Lions 33 Rhinos 9

2009: Rhinos 30 Buffaloes 13

2010: Rhinos 25 Cheetahs 5

2011: Rhinos 20 Cheetahs 15

2012: Rhinos 25 Rwenzori 14

2013: Ndovu 24 Rwenzori 18

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker