ICC Names Judges For Uhuru, Ruto Trial

story geneva;”>President Uhuru Kenyatta, his deputy William Samoei Ruto and Joshua Arap Sang are accused of crimes against humanity including murder and deportation during the 2007 post-election violence in Kenya. They deny the charges.

ICC said in a statement on Tuesday that the decision of the Presidency was taken to “ensure the proper administration of justice, taking into consideration each Judge’s workload.”

The Kenyan suspects have since promised to cooperate with the ICC.

According to the decision, Trial Chamber V(a) in charge of the case of Mr Ruto and Mr Sang, will be composed of Judges Olga Herrera Carbuccia, Robert Fremr and Chile Eboe-Osuji.


Trial Chamber V(b), in charge of the case of Mr Kenyatta, will be composed of Judges Kuniko Ozaki, Robert Fremr and Chile Eboe-Osuji.

“It is the role of the ICC Presidency as part of its judicial functions to constitute Chambers, decide on their composition, and assign cases to Chambers, said the ICC, adding, “Similar changes in the composition of Chambers have been made in previous cases before the ICC, such as the cases of Germain Katanga and Mathieu Ngudjolo Chui, of Jean-Pierre Bemba Gombo and of Abdallah Banda Abakaer Nourain and Saleh Mohammed Jerbo Jamus.”

Judge Ozaki on 2 May 2013 requested to be excused on the ground of workload, from exercising her functions as a judge in the case of The Prosecutor v. William Samoei Ruto and Joshua Arap Sang, pursuant to article 41 of the Rome Statute.

Functions of the Trial Chamber are normally carried out by three judges of the Trial Division in accordance with article 39(2)(b)(ii) of the Statute.

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker