Kitende Win 7th COPA Coca-Cola Schools Championship

web geneva; font-size: small;”>EGAKU Gerald came off the bench for Shafik Bukenya to score the winning goal in the 56th minute to give Kitende a lead they never relinquished.

health geneva; font-size: small;”>

“It is now clear that schools which don’t invest in the game by at least offering scholarships will never step on this podium,” tournament official Kennedy Mutenyo said before crowning an ecstatic Kitende in front of a huge crowd at Kabale Municipal Stadium.

His words echoed gloom on traditional power-horses eight-time record winners Kibuli SS, Old Kampala, Kawempe, Muntuyera, St Leos Kyegobe, Lango College, Jinja Secondary and Masaka Secondary among others now replaced by St Julian High School from Gayaza who left Kabale with bronze after defeating 1997 champions St Leo’s Kyegobe of Fort Portal 4-3 on post-match penalties after a 2-2 draw in regulation time.

It was Kyegobe’s best ever performance in more than a decade. And the only government sponsored school to make the semi-finals.

“We are not disappointed at all. This is a satisfying performance,” Kyegobe coach Fred Muhumuza said. Kyegobe had a fairy-tale run, defeating tough opponents including Mukono’s Dynamic Secondary but their run came to an end when they lost to Kitende 4-1 in the semifinals. Nonetheless, they left with a proud record – the only team to breach Kitende’s defense.



Kitende 1-0 Standard

Third place

St Julian 2 (4) – 2 (3) Kyegobe

Semi finals

Kitende 4-1 Kyegobe

Standard 2-1 St Julian


2002 Kibuli

2003 Old Kampala

2004 Kitende

2005 Kibuli

2006 Kitende

2007 Kitende

2008 Kitende

2009 Budo SS

2010 Bishop Nankyama

2011 Kitende

2012 Kitende

2013 Kitende

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker