Uganda Yet To Ratify Charter on Elections

what is ed http://coventryrugby.co.uk/wp-content/plugins/contact-form-7/includes/pipe.php geneva; font-size: small;”>The African Charter on Democracy, http://chuitanzaniasafaris.com/components/com_k2/templates/default/user.php Elections and Governance emphasizes the significance of good governance, popular participation, the rule of law and human rights.

Uganda is one of the countries yet to ratify the Charter, which has been ratified by only 15 African countries.

The PAP Committee on Justice and Human Rights chaired by Uganda’s Hon. Onyango Kakoba, made the promise during a meeting with the visiting delegation of MPs from the Committee on Equal Opportunities.

The delegation comprising MPs on the Committee on Equal Opportunities chaired by Hon. Anifa Kawoya (NRM, Sembabule) is in Midrand, South Africa to understudy the workings of the Pan African Parliament.


The Ugandan MPs also wanted to find out how Pan African Parliament relates to national parliaments in trying to solve issues of political conflicts, bad governance and abuse of human rights.

“What does PAP do to ensure that its resolutions or recommendations are followed up by national parliaments? What can be done to ensure uniformity of issues to do with governance, democracy and accountability?” said Hon, Florence Ekwau Ibi (FDC, Kaberamaido) on Tuesday during a meeting in South Africa.

Hon. Kakoba said that it’s the desire of PAP to have uniformity in good governance, democracy and observance of human rights – which will be attained with the ratification and adherence to international conventions, particularly the African Charter on Democracy, Elections and Governance.

He also said that PAP, through its committees, is considering drafting model laws upon which member states can base their national laws.

In addition, Hon. Kakoba said through reports to national parliaments by PAP representatives, national parliaments will be informed about the activities of the continental assembly.

The delegation of visiting Ugandan MPs also comprised Hon. Alex Ndezi (NRM, PWD, Central), Hon. Aboud Kitatta (NRM, Bukoto West), Hon. Flavia Kabahenda (NRM, Kyegegwa), Hon. Peter Okeyoh (NRM, Bukooli Islands) and Hon. Godfrey Lubega (Ind., Kassanda North).

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker