10-man Uganda Cranes Hold Cameroon in Pre-CHAN Opener

• Cameroon 1-1 Uganda Cranes

Uganda Cranes battled back to draw hosts Cameroon 1-1 in the pre-CHAN mini tournament that kicked off on Friday evening at Stade Ahamdaou Ahidjo in Yaounde.

The Cranes played over 78 minutes with a man down following a direct red card sowed to striker Ben Ocen who was adjudged for elbowing his marks man inside the first 12 minutes of play.

Despite playing with numerical disadvantage, Uganda Cranes held nerves to claim a point thanks to a Milton Karisa strike on the 70th minute mark under floodlights.

Cameroon took the lead from a free kick that resulted from Ocen’s foul after 13th minutes when skipper Banga Bidjeme nodded home a reflex header past goalkeeper Joel Mutakubwa.

With the hosts dominating possessions, the visitors’ coach Jonathan McKinstry introduced striker Joseph Ssemujju for midfielder Karim Watambala before the break.

Midway through the second stanza, the Cranes called for double changes bringing striker Vianne Sekajugo and midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga on for Ojera Joackim and captain Tonny Mawejje with Mujuzi Mustafa wearing the armband.

In the 70th minute, winger Karisa and super substitute Ojera Walter were involved in an interplay and combined with a series of passes between each other before the Vipers forward tapped home to draw matters level.


Birthday boy Shaban Muhammad was later introduced with 10 minutes to the final whistle for goal scorer and teammate Karisa as the final score read 1-1.

The four-nation tournament (Zambia, Cameroon, Niger and Uganda) aims at preparing the squads for the 2020 Total CHAN Finals slated for 16th January to 2nd February 2021 in Cameroon.

Uganda Cranes will play against former tactician Milutin “Micho” Sredjovic coached side Zambia on Monday 4th January in their second game (6:00pm EAT) at the same stadium.

Team Lineups

Uganda Cranes

Joel Mutakubwa (GK), Tonny Mawejje (C), Aziizi Kayondo, Ashraf Mandela, Paul Mbowa, Musitafa Mujuzi, AbdulKarim Watambala, Shafik Kagimu, Ben Ocen, Joackiam Ojera, Karisa Milton

Substitutes: Nafian Alionzi (GK), Tom Ikara (GK), Eric Ssenjobe, Hassan Muhammad, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Saidi Kyeyune, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Ibrahim Orit, Vianne Ssekajjugo, Joseph Ssemujju, Steven Mukwala, Mohamed Shaban


Junior Dande (GK), Banga Salomon Bidjeme (Capt), Etame Ngombe, Yankam Basile, Ondoa Edima Franck, Ako Assomo, Serge Andoulo, Felix Oukine, Badouidana Onana, Meyong Alfred, Yannick Ndjeng

Back to top button
Translate »

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker