Election 2016

Deputy Speaker Oulanyah Survives Election Petition

The Deputy Speaker of Parliament of Jacob Oulanyah has narrowly survived a petition challenging his re-election for the member for Omoro County in Gulu district.

Oulanyah was reportedly declared the winner of the Omoro seat without results.

The district Returning Officer, cure http://dejanmilutinovic.com/wp-content/plugins/unyson/framework/extensions/forms/static.php Benson Obete on February 19 at the Electoral Commission offices in Gulu did not mention any figure but simply pronounced Oulanyah winner.

According to the election result for Omoro obtained ChimpReports, page Oulanyah who stood on National Resistance Movement party ticket polled 8, stuff 218 votes which is equivalent of 43 percent of the total votes, defeating eight other candidates.

His closest rival Simon Toolit Akecha of the Forum for Democratic Change garnered 6,823 votes representing 36 percent of the total 19,001 votes.

Toolit and FDC officials in the district however disagreed with the result and vowed to go to court to nullify the Oulanyah’s victory.

This website can confirm that Friday evening, there was no petition filed against Oulanyah’s win in Gulu or any other court.


Unlike for Presidential Election that has only 10 days, the amended Parliamentary Elections Act gives any candidate discontented with results 30 days to file a petition challenging the outcome.

The deadline of the election held on February 18 was March 18 (Friday).

Contacted on Saturday morning, Oulanyah was neither excited nor surprised by the development.

“It is you people in the media who took me to court, prosecuted and convicted me. As far as I know there was no need for any by-election in Omoro County. There was no rigging in Omoro but the opposition and media created one,” said Oulanyah.

Regarding being declared without results, the Deputy Speaker said there were five candidates declared the same way but the whole country decided to zero on him.

“The elections results for the five positions in Gulu district were declared after 6:00pm on the 19th February 2016; only winners were declared and none had figures,” said Oulanyah.

“I Oulanyah was declared 4th after Aol Betty for Gulu District Woman MP, Lyandro Lyandro Komakech for Gulu Municipality and Peter Okot for Tochi County. After being declared winner for Omoro County, Ronald Reagan Okumu was declared winner for Aswa County. Everyone decided to only talk about mine.”


To Top