Norway Bolsters Makerere ICT Innovations



online geneva;”>It will fund two projects within the School of Computing and Informatics Technology (CIT) under the College of Computing and Information Sciences (CoCIS).

These programs are HI-TRAIN- Health Informatics Training and Research in East Africa for Improved Health Care, aimed at realizing self-sustainable, replicable and scalable HI (Health Informatics) training and research programs in East Africa, to help meet the rising HI capacity and research needs in the region.

Dr. Peter Wakholi, a project team member says, “Under this initiative, 17 staff members from Makerere University will receive training at PhD, Masters and postgraduate level thus providing bedrock for the multi-disciplinary HI field.”

He further noted that the project will create health informatics training and capacity building opportunities to solve major health problems in the country.

Wakholi said the initiative is based on the premise that health service delivery in the country is still poor yet Health Informatics can play a vital role by enabling better service delivery through ICTs.

“The end goal is to enable capacity for research and innovations, developing new methods and products thus creating employment for young graduates,” added Dr. Wakholi.


HI-TRAIN is collaboration between the University of Bergen (Norway), Moi University (Kenya) and Makerere University (Uganda).

The Second project that will be funded by NORHED is WIMEA-ICT: Improving Weather Information Management in East Africa for Effective Service Provision through the Application of Suitable ICTs.

“This project is aimed at establishing a Centre for Appropriate Weather Information Management (CAWIM) that will design, implement and supervise improvement in Timeliness, Accuracy and Access of Weather Information in the East African region.”

It should be noted that Makerere University is the lead partner together with the University of Bergen while other partners include: Department of Meteorology (Uganda), University of Juba (South-Sudan), Dar-es-Salaam Institute of Technology (Tanzania) and KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden).

Header advertisement
Header advertisement
Back to top button
Translate »